GUTS by Chuck Palahniuk

“Inhale.

Take in as much air as you can.”

Those are the opening words for a short story that I hear caused no less than 60 people to black out while the author read to the audience.

The topic of this story is quite, well for lack of better words, unconventional. It tells of general masturbation mishaps, the result of people looking for weird more intense ways to beat off, and focuses on three young boys, the narrator being one of them.

It is a disturbingly graphic, and some will even say disgusting story. You find yourself simultaneously clenching your butt cheeks and covering your eyes with your hands but you’ll still continue reading through the slits in your fingers.

You can see what I’m up against.
You let go for a second, and you’re gutted.
You swim for the surface, for a breath, and you’re gutted.
You don’t swim, and you drown.
It’s a choice between being dead right now or a minute from right now.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story and even found it funny in a twisted kind of way. I reread it twice in one sitting and I proceeded to disgust my friend with all the gory details. I could not suffer alone – after all, misery does love company.

I’ve watched fight club, the film adaptation of a book of the same title, written by Chuck, but GUTS is what has endeared him to me. I just want to read everything he has ever written. So help me God.

“Now you can take a good, deep breath.” I just did. 😉

Click here to read GUTS

2 thoughts on “GUTS by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. Hahaha!!!
    How do people ever find this story disgusting??? I was laughing all through! Pure comedy. Or am I twisted? Is that the reason I find the TV show “1000 Ways To Die” hilarious while everyone else thinks it’s gory?
    Heck! Who cares. A good story is a good story.
    Thanks for sharing! Now, I also have to go find everything else this dude has written!

Leave a Reply

